“Trust me.”

God’s most typical and ever inconvenient response to my most pressing and recurring questions: “Trust me.”

Amidst the confusion, frustration and occasional panic in which this ‘clear’ response leaves me, I remember to constantly remind myself about the fact that there is valid reason to trust, and continue to trust. As unclear as my journey ahead seems, so unclear it has been for the past few years (and truly all my life, although I enjoyed the comfort of assumed certainty until fairly recently) and yet God has been guiding and providing and, above all, remained himself. Deeper and more distant than God’s works in my own life that speaks of his faithfulness or trustworthiness, is a historical narrative of him calling and reminding people to trust, in light of who he is.

Lighthouse-in-the-stormAs God gave to Israel the Sabbath to keep as part of the Law, he revealed and reassured them of who they are dealing with. It answered for Israel the “Who is YHWH?” question, identifying their Redeemer God with Elohim the Creator, who instituted the original sabbatical creation tradition in Genesis (2:1-3). To behold God as Creator, man, like Adam was, is confronted with God’s claims that his world is a covenantal order under the sceptre and protection of its Creator. These claims call for confession, commitment and doxology, and serves as invitational proclamation and reminder of the creational covenant[1] . Later covenants so too are made while recognising the original Creation Covenant and its Initiator. (Kline 2006, Kingdom Prologue)

Is this not also the answer to the disciples’ question which left them “filled with great fear” (Mark 4:41): “What sort of man is this (Jesus), that even winds and sea obey him?” (Matt. 8:27)?

That this Jesus is YHWH the Redeemer God and thus Elohim the Creator?

 

“So let go my soul and trust in Him
The waves and wind still know His name”
– Kristene DiMarco

“Still”… He who initially created order from chaos is also He who came in the flesh to recreate order from our chaos. He is creating order from my chaos.
Trust in Him, for there is no other way.

Perhaps some future day, Lord,
Thy strong hand will lead me to the place
Where I must stand utterly alone;
Alone, Oh gracious Lover, but for Thee.

I shall be satisfied if I can see Jesus only.
I do not know Thy plan for years to come.
My spirit finds in Thee its perfect home: sufficiency.
Lord, all my desire is before Thee now.
Lead on no matter where, no matter how,
I trust in Thee.

Elisabeth Elliot

Serv.

[1] Wisdom in Proverbs 8:22-9:6 is also presented as ‘legitimate’ or ‘worthy to pursue’ on these grounds.

About Servaas Hofmeyr

For life through Truth.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

