Heyr, Himna Smiður (Hear, Smith of the Heavens – a hymn)

From time to time I come across an article, speech or writing  which just has to be shared. Not necessarily reported on or disected, just shared. This is one such article which is filed under the Verbatim section.

This Icelandic hymn, composed by Kolbeinn Tumason on his deathbed in 1208, was brought to my attention earlier this year as a facebook friend posted a modern rendition thereof to his timeline. I am fascinated by, and appreciate how, various cultures relate to the Lord in worship. Norse culture, in particular, intrigues me and also then this referral to the Creator as “Smith of the Heavens”.

http://decoratorsnotebook.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/screen-shot-2012-09-26-at-16-06-18.png

Hear, smith of the heavens,
what the poet asks.
May softly come unto me
thy mercy.
So I call on thee,
for thou hast created me.
I am thy slave,
thou art my Lord.

God, I call on thee
to heal me.
Remember me, mild (king),
most we need thee.
Drive out, O king of suns,
generous and great,
every human sorrow
from the city of the heart.

Watch over me, mild one,
Most we need thee,
truly every moment
in the world of men.
Send us, son of the virgin,
good causes;
all aid is from thee,
in my heart.

The music to the hymn was composed in the 1970s by Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson (1938-2013), one of Iceland’s foremost contemporary composers, and can be listened to as performed by Eivør Pálsdóttir or Ellen Kristjándsóttir (with English word translation).

Serv. via Kolbeinn Tumason

 

About Servaas Hofmeyr

For life through Truth.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Culture, Religion, Verbatim. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

