Start stirring

A Blogger is someone who blogs on a blog. A blog? A place where opinionated people can get it out of their system, an electronic, web based soap box if you like. A place from which to share or make others aware – bring them in the know you see, or just give them a good laugh for free. A website for those a bit short on cash, or whose writings are generally considered trash. An internetual conversation where you always get to put the first (and longest) word in – which is why it works pretty good for me. We are all so extremely full of ourselves and love our own opinions and ways above all others, so desperate for the world to just shut-up and listen to us for a change. Poverty and all the climate issues and stuff would then be sorted out in a day you know. Agreed?

Some people enter beauty pageants to preach world peace, while the ones who consider themselves intellectually superior choose to do so by means of writing. They’ll write on paper, take-away coffee cups, serviettes (I’m looking at you JK!), they’ll even ink their own bodies to display their intellectual supremacy. We just don’t want to admit that we’re not pretty enough to enter those freaking beauty contests!

So, except for the reasons mentioned above, why in the world would I also start up a blog? Well, at first a friend suggested I start one seeing that it would be a more organised way of communicating the things I normally blurt out by means of my facebook status. Although these are topics I’m passionate about and want the world to consider and discuss, I reckoned facebook is more than sufficient for me. I then arrived at the place though, where facebook is not big enough for both my sophisticated profile and opinions & news flashes anymore. Still I thought it’s not worth the time and effort until I read another article in a local news paper which made me realise that more people should write blogs which offer an alternative view to that of the mainstream media – counter their biased opinions with our biased opinions you know? So now I am one of those “more people”. I will discuss whatever makes headlines locally or abroad, share experiences, encourage the reader to act where they feel prompted to do so, and even share my philosophies on life and its many sub-divisions. And oh yeah, I also love a good quote any day, so I’ll share loads of them too.

I do not have all the facts available to me but will form an opinion from the ones I do have and hope that you will join the discussion and bring your facts to the table so we can see what we collectively have in front of us. I believe that truth is absolute and exclusive and that it can be known if we’re truly interested in and willing to discover it. Even if we have to drop our old ways of looking at things. I believe in good and evil and that they can be defined and responded to.

Further, this blog is not only for you but also for me, it is a place where I can get my own head around things, learn from you, consider your ways, think things through. Seeing that this is post #1, the blog will evolve over time, hoping to make it as reader friendly and informative as possible. There’s still a few things I need to figure out though.

I hope to post something at least on a weekly basis. Sometimes more and I trust never less.                  

I mentioned my love for quotes, right? Chew on these for now:

“The reserve of modern assertions is sometimes pushed to extremes, in which the fear of being contradicted leads the writer to strip himself of almost all sense and meaning. – Winston Churchill

“If the whole universe has no meaning, we should never have found out that it has no meaning. . .” – CS Lewis

 

PS – You are welcome to point out my spelling and grammatical errors as well if you feel it is necessary. My rule is that if you’re not sure: put in a comma, use a hyphen, but generally make it two words when writing in English.

 

Serv.

 



About Servaas Hofmeyr

For life through Truth.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start stirring

  1. Kelsey says:

    Servie my friend. We def. need someone as wise and courageous as you getting their thoughts out into this world. Yours is a beautiful and radical soul my friend. I find it very touching to read of your love for your country and the hope you have that the Lord continues to have good and wonderful plans for it. Please keep writing. I’ll keep reading. Your friend always (from the other SA) Kels

Leave a Reply

